B's Announce Regular Season Award Winners

BOSTON, MA – The Bruins announced their regular season award winners before the Bruins/Sabres game on Saturday, April 7. Zdeno Chara was the recipient of the Eddie Shore Award (exceptional hustle and determination, chosen by the “Gallery Gods”); Brad Marchand took home both the Elizabeth Dufresne Trophy (outstanding performance during home games, voted by Boston media) and the John P. Bucyk Award (greatest off-ice charitable contributions, chosen by John Bucyk); and Tim Thomas (First Star), Patrice Bergeron (Second Star) andMilan Lucic (Third Star) were named the Bruins Three Stars (top performers at home over the course of the season, chosen by 98.5 The Sports Hub). 

Eddie Shore Award:
The team’s captain, Chara once again led the team in time on ice, logging 25:02 per game during the regular season. He established a career high in points this year (52) and ranks sixth overall on the team in scoring. Matched up against the opposition’s top line each night, Chara has registered a +33 rating, which ranks second in the league behind teammate Patrice Bergeron

Elizabeth Dufresne Trophy and John P. Bucyk Award:
Marchand tallied a team-high 17 goals at home this season to go along with 13 assists for 30 points. The 2011-12 season marked the first full year of his community service initiative, “Brad’s Brigade.” Through this program, hospitalized children and children in need are able to attend Bruins games and meet Marchand. He also participated in a number of team organized charitable appearances throughout the Greater Boston area this season. 

3 notes


  1. escapingfromlifewiththebs reblogged this from nhlbruins
  2. nhlbruins posted this